Monday, January 1, 2018

Make your Outlook email accessible

Make your Outlook email accessible

This topic gives you step-by-step instructions to make your email messages accessible to people with disabilities.

Image of an email about the research team offsite on June 9. The email includes the event flier, which includes a photo and the conference venue's address.

People who are blind or have low vision can understand your emails more easily if you create them with accessibility in mind.

Windows: Best practices for making Outlook email accessible

The following table includes key best practices for creating Outlook email that is accessible to people with disabilities.

What to fix

Why fix it

How to fix it

Include alternative text with all visuals and tables.

Visual content includes pictures, clip art, SmartArt graphics, shapes, groups, charts, embedded objects, ink, and videos.

Alt text helps people who can't see the screen to understand what's important in images and other visuals.

Avoid using text in images as the sole method of conveying important information. If you must use an image with text in it, repeat that text in the document. In alt text, briefly describe the image and mention the existence of the text and its intent.

Add alt text to images

Add alt text to SmartArt graphics

Add alt text to shapes

Add alt text to charts

Add alt text to tables

Add meaningful hyperlink text and ScreenTips.

People who use screen readers sometimes scan a list of links. Links should convey clear and accurate information about the destination. For example, instead of linking to the text Click here, include the full title of the destination page.

Tip: You can also add ScreenTips that appear when your cursor hovers over text or images that include a hyperlink.

Add hyperlink text and ScreenTips

Ensure that color is not the only means of conveying information.

People who are blind, have low vision, or are colorblind might miss out on the meaning conveyed by particular colors.

For example, add an underline to color-coded hyperlink text so that people who are colorblind know that the text is linked even if they can't see the color. For headings, consider adding bold or using a larger font.

Use accessible font format

Use sufficient contrast for text and background colors.

The text in your email should be readable in High Contrast mode so that everyone, including people with visual disabilities, can see it well.

For example, use bright colors or high-contrast color schemes on opposite ends of the color spectrum. White and black schemes make it easier for people who are colorblind to distinguish text and shapes.

Use accessible font color

Use a larger font size (11pt or larger), sans serif fonts, and sufficient white space.

People who have dyslexia describe seeing text "swim together" on a page (the compressing of one line of text into the line below). They often see text merge or distort.

For people who have dyslexia or have low vision, reduce the reading load. For example, they may benefit from familiar sans serif fonts such as Arial or Calibri. Avoid using all capital letters and excessive italics or underlines. Include ample white space between sentences and paragraphs.

Use accessible font format

Adjust space between sentences and paragraphs

Use built-in headings and styles.

To preserve tab order and to make it easier for screen readers to read your email, use a logical heading order and the built-in formatting tools in Outlook.

For example, organize headings in the prescribed logical order. Use Heading 1, Heading 2, and then Heading 3, rather than Heading 3, Heading 1, and then Heading 2. And, organize the information in your email into small chunks. Ideally, each heading would include only a few paragraphs.

Use accessible font format

Use bulleted list styles

Use ordered lists

Use a simple table structure, and specify column header information.

Screen readers keep track of their location in a table by counting table cells. If a table is nested within another table or if a cell is merged or split, the screen reader loses count and can't provide helpful information about the table after that point. Blank cells in a table could also mislead someone using a screen reader into thinking that there is nothing more in the table.

Screen readers also use header information to identify rows and columns.

Use table headers

Add alt text to visuals and tables

The following procedures describe how to add alt text to visuals and tables in your Outlook email.

Note: We recommend only putting text in the description field and leaving the title blank. This will provide the best experience with most major screen readers including Narrator. For audio and video content, in addition to alt text, include closed captioning for people who are deaf or have limited hearing.

Add alt text to images

Add alt text to images, such as pictures, clip art, and screenshots, so that screen readers can read the text to describe the image to users who can't see the image.

  1. Right-click an image.

  2. Select Format Picture > Layout & Properties.

  3. Select Alt Text.

  4. Type a description and a title.

    Tip: Include the most important information in the first line, and be as concise as possible.

Screenshot of the Alt Text area of the Format Picture pane describing the selected image

Add alt text to SmartArt graphics

  1. Right-click a SmartArt graphic.

  2. Select Format Object > Shape Options > Layout & Properties.

  3. Select Alt Text.

  4. Type a description and a title.

    Tip: Include the most important information in the first line, and be as concise as possible.

Screenshot of the Alt Text area of the Format Shape pane describing the selected SmartArt graphic

Add alt text to shapes

Add alt text to shapes, including shapes within a SmartArt graphic.

  1. Right-click a shape.

  2. Select Format Shape > Layout & Properties.

  3. Select Alt Text.

  4. Type a description and a title.

    Tip: Include the most important information in the first line, and be as concise as possible.

Screenshot of the Alt Text area of the Format Shape pane describing the selected shape

Add alt text to charts

  1. Right-click a chart.

  2. Select Format Chart Area > Chart Options > Layout & Properties.

  3. Select Alt Text.

  4. Type a description and a title.

    Tip: Include the most important information in the first line, and be as concise as possible.

Screenshot of the Alt Text area of the Format Chart Area pane describing the selected chart

Add alt text to tables

  1. Right-click a table.

  2. Select Table Properties.

  3. Select the Alt Text tab.

  4. Type a description and a title.

    Tip: Include the most important information in the first line, and be as concise as possible.

Screenshot of the Alt Text tab of the Table Properties dialog box describing the selected table

Make hyperlinks, text, and tables accessible

The following procedures describe how to make the hyperlinks, text, and tables in your Outlook email accessible.

Add hyperlink text and ScreenTips

  1. Select the text to which you want to add the hyperlink, and then right-click.

  2. Select Hyperlink. The text you selected displays in the Text to display box. This is the hyperlink text.

  3. If necessary, change the hyperlink text. In the Address box, type the destination URL.

  4. Select the ScreenTip button and, in the ScreenTip text box, type a ScreenTip.

Tip: If the title on the hyperlink's destination page gives an accurate summary of what's on the page, use it for the hyperlink text. For example, this hyperlink text matches the title on the destination page: Templates and Themes for Office Online.

Screenshot of the Insert Hyperlink dialog box

Use accessible font format

  1. Select your text.

  2. Select the Format Text tab.

  3. In the Font group, which provides options for font type, size, style, and color, select your formatting choices.

Screenshot of the Automatic color setting for fonts

Use accessible font color

To ensure that text displays well in High Contrast mode, use the Automatic setting for font colors.

  1. Select your text.

  2. Select Message > Font Color.

  3. Select Automatic.

Screenshot of the Automatic color setting for fonts

Use bulleted list styles

Create bulleted lists by using the Bullets button.

  1. Position the cursor anywhere in your email.

  2. Select the Format Text tab.

  3. In the Paragraph group, select the Bullets button.

  4. Type each bullet item in the bulleted list.

Screenshot of the bullet style options

Use ordered lists

Create sequential steps by using the Numbering button.

  1. Position the cursor anywhere in your email.

  2. Select the Format Text tab.

  3. In the Paragraph group, select the Numbering button.

  4. Type the sequential steps.

Screenshot of the numbering style options

Adjust space between sentences and paragraphs

Increase or decrease white space between sentences and paragraphs.

  1. Select your text.

  2. Select the Format Text tab.

  3. In the Paragraph group, in the lower-right corner of the group, select the Dialog box launcher.
    The Paragraph dialog box opens, showing the Indents and Spacing tab.

  4. Under Spacing, select the spacing options you want.

Screenshot of the Paragraph dialog box

Use table headers

Specify a header row in a table.

  1. Position the cursor anywhere in a table.

  2. On the Table Tools Design tab, in the Table Style Options group, select the Header Row check box.

  3. Type column headings.

Screenshot of the Header Row check box

Request an accessible email

Let a sender know that you prefer to receive accessible content.

  • To go to your account on the web, in Outlook, select File > Info, and then in Account Settings, click the link under Access this account on the web.

  • In Outlook on the web, to go to Accessibility Settings, select Settings icon > Mail > General > Accessibility settings.

  • To request accessible content, select the Ask senders to send content that's accessible checkbox.

See also

Rules for the Accessibility Checker

Make your Word documents accessible

Make your Excel spreadsheets accessible

Make your PowerPoint presentations accessible

Mac: Best practices for making Outlook email accessible

The following table includes key best practices for creating Outlook email that is accessible to people with disabilities.

What to fix

Why fix it

How to fix it

Include alternative text with all visuals and tables.

Visual content includes pictures, clip art, shapes, groups, charts, embedded objects, ink, and videos.

Alt text helps people who can't see the screen to understand what's important in images and other visuals.

Avoid using text in images as the sole method of conveying important information. If you must use an image with text in it, repeat that text in the document. In alt text, briefly describe the image and mention the existence of the text and its intent.

Add alt text to images

Add alt text to tables

Add meaningful hyperlink text and ScreenTips.

People who use screen readers sometimes scan a list of links. Links should convey clear and accurate information about the destination. For example, instead of linking to the text Click here, include the full title of the destination page.

Tip: You can also add ScreenTips that appear when your cursor hovers over text or images that include a hyperlink.

Add hyperlink text and ScreenTips

Ensure that color is not the only means of conveying information.

People who are blind, have low vision, or are colorblind might miss out on the meaning conveyed by particular colors.

For example, add an underline to color-coded hyperlink text so that people who are colorblind know that the text is linked even if they can't see the color. For headings, consider adding bold or using a larger font.

Use accessible font color

Use sufficient contrast for text and background colors.

The text in your email should be readable in High Contrast mode so that everyone, including people with visual disabilities, can see it well.

For example, use bright colors or high-contrast color schemes on opposite ends of the color spectrum. White and black schemes can help people who are colorblind distinguish between colors.

Use accessible font format

Use a larger font size (11pt or larger), sans serif fonts, and sufficient white space.

People who have dyslexia describe seeing text "swim together" on a page (the compressing of one line of text into the line below). They often see text merge or distort.

For people who have dyslexia or have low vision, reduce the reading load. For example, they may benefit from familiar sans serif fonts, such as Arial or Calibri. Avoid using all capital letters and excessive italics or underlines. Include ample white space between sentences and paragraphs.

Use accessible font format

Adjust space between sentences and paragraphs

Use headings and built-in styles.

To preserve tab order and to make it easier for screen readers to read your email, use a logical heading order and the built-in formatting tools in Outlook.

For example, organize the information in your email into small chunks and add headings above them. Ideally, each section would include only a few paragraphs.

Use accessible font format

Use bulleted lists styles

Use ordered lists

Use a simple table structure, and specify column header information.

Screen readers keep track of their location in a table by counting table cells. If a table is nested within another table or if a cell is merged or split, the screen reader loses count and can't provide helpful information about the table after that point. Blank cells in a table could also mislead someone using a screen reader into thinking that there is nothing more in the table.

Screen readers also use header information to identify rows and columns.

Use table headers

Add alt text to visuals and tables

The following procedures describe how to add alt text to visuals and tables in your Outlook email.

Note: For audio and video content, in addition to alt text, include closed captioning for people who are deaf or have limited hearing.

Add alt text to images

Add alt text to images, such as pictures, clip art, and screenshots, so that screen readers can read the text to describe the image to users who can't see the image.

  1. Right-click an image.

  2. Select Format Picture > Layout & Properties.

  3. Select Alt Text.

  4. Type a description and a title.

    Tip: Include the most important information in the first line, and be as concise as possible.

Screenshot of the Alt Text area of the Format Picture pane describing the selected image

Add alt text to tables

  1. Right-click a table.

  2. Select Table Properties.

  3. Select the Alt Text tab.

  4. Type a description and a title.

    Tip: Include the most important information in the first line, and be as concise as possible.

Screenshot of the Alt Text tab of the Table Properties dialog describing the selected table

Make hyperlinks, text, and tables accessible

The following procedures describe how to make the hyperlinks, text, and tables in your Outlook email accessible.

Add hyperlink text and ScreenTips

  1. Select the text to which you want to add the hyperlink, and then select Add a Hyperlink.
    The text you selected displays in the Text to Display box. This is the hyperlink text.

  2. If necessary, change the hyperlink text.

  3. In the Address box, type the destination URL.

  4. Select the ScreenTip button and, in the ScreenTip text box, type a ScreenTip.

Tip: If the title on the hyperlink's destination page gives an accurate summary of what's on the page, use it for the hyperlink text. For example, this hyperlink text matches the title on the destination page: Templates and Themes for Office Online.

Screenshot of the Insert Hyperlink dialog

Use accessible font format

  1. Select your text.

  2. Select the Message tab.

  3. In the Font group, which provides options for font type, size, style, and color, select your formatting choices.

Screenshot of the Format Text tab

Use accessible font color

To ensure that text displays well in High Contrast mode, use the Automatic setting for font colors.

  1. Select your text.

  2. Select Message > Font Color.

  3. Select Automatic.

Screenshot of the Automatic color setting for fonts

Use bulleted lists styles

Create bulleted lists by using the Bullets button.

  1. Position the cursor anywhere in your email.

  2. Select the Message tab.

  3. In the Paragraph group, select the Bullets button.

  4. Type each bullet item in the bulleted list.

Screenshot of available bullet style options

Use ordered lists

Create sequential steps by using the Numbering button.

  1. Position the cursor anywhere in your email.

  2. Select the Message tab.

  3. In the Paragraph group, select the Numbering button.

  4. Type the sequential steps.

Screenshot of available numbering style options

Adjust space between sentences and paragraphs

Increase or decrease white space between sentences and paragraphs.

  1. Select your text, right-click it, and then select Paragraph.

    The Paragraph dialog box opens, showing the Indents and Spacing tab.

  2. Under Spacing, select the spacing options you want.

Screenshot of the Paragraph dialog

Use table headers

Specify a header row in a table.

  1. Position the cursor anywhere in a table.

  2. On the Table Design tab, select the Header Row check box.

  3. Type column headings.

Screenshot of the Header Row check box

See also

Rules for the Accessibility Checker

Make your Word documents accessible

Make your Excel spreadsheets accessible

Make your PowerPoint presentations accessible

iOS app: Best practices for making Outlook email accessible

The following table includes key best practices for creating an Outlook for iOS email that is accessible to people with disabilities.

What to fix

Why fix it

How to fix it

Include alternative text with pictures.

Alternative text helps people who can't see the screen to understand what's important in images and other visuals.

Avoid using text in images as the sole method of conveying important information. If you must use an image with text in it, repeat that text in the document. In alternative text, briefly describe the image and mention the existence of the text and its intent.

Add alternative text to images

Add meaningful hyperlink text.

People who use screen readers sometimes scan a list of links. Links should convey clear and accurate information about the destination. For example, instead of linking to the text Click here, include the full title of the destination page.

Add hyperlink text

Add alternative text to images

Add alternative text to images, such as pictures and screenshots, so that screen readers can read the text to describe the image to readers who can't see the image.

  1. In the email you are composing, double-tap an image to open the context menu.

  2. In the context menu, tap Alt Text.

  3. Type a description.

    Tip: Include the most important information in the first line, and be as concise as possible.

  4. To add the text and exit the dialog, tap OK.

Outlook for iOS Alt Text for image menu

Add hyperlink text

Add a meaningful hyperlink text to help screen reader users easily scan your email for links.

  1. In the email you are composing, select the text to which you want to add the hyperlink.

  2. To open the context menu, tap the selected text.

  3. If necessary, at the end of the menu, tap More button until the Add Link button is displayed. Tap the Add Link button.

  4. If necessary, change the hyperlink text in the Text field.

  5. In the Link field, type the destination URL.

  6. To insert the hyperlink, tap Done button .

Tip: If the title on the hyperlink's destination page gives an accurate summary of what's on the page, use it for the hyperlink text. For example, this hyperlink text matches the title on the destination page: Templates and Themes for Office Online.

Add link menu image

See also

Rules for the Accessibility Checker

Make your Word documents accessible

Make your Excel spreadsheets accessible

Make your PowerPoint presentations accessible

Android app: Best practices for making Outlook email accessible

The following table includes the key best practice for creating an Outlook for Android email that is accessible to people with disabilities.

What to fix

Why fix it

How to fix it

Add meaningful hyperlink text.

People who use screen readers sometimes scan a list of links. Links should convey clear and accurate information about the destination. For example, instead of linking to the text Click here, include the full title of the destination page.

Add hyperlink text

Add hyperlink text

Add a meaningful hyperlink text to help screen reader users easily scan your email for links.

  1. In the email you are composing, select the text to which you want to add the hyperlink. The context menu opens.

  2. Tap the ADD LINK button.

  3. If necessary, change the hyperlink text in the Text to display field.

  4. In the Link field, type the destination URL.

  5. To insert the hyperlink, tap the SAVE button.

Tip: If the title on the hyperlink's destination page gives an accurate summary of what's on the page, use it for the hyperlink text. For example, this hyperlink text matches the title on the destination page: Templates and Themes for Office Online.

Add link menu image.

See also

Rules for the Accessibility Checker

Make your Word documents accessible

Make your Excel spreadsheets accessible

Make your PowerPoint presentations accessible

Windows 10 app: Best practices for making Outlook email accessible

The following table includes key best practices for creating an Outlook email that is accessible to people with disabilities.

What to fix

Why fix it

How to fix it

Include alternative text with pictures and tables.

Alternative text helps people who can't see the screen to understand what's important in images and other visuals.

Avoid using text in images as the sole method of conveying important information. If you must use an image with text in it, repeat that text in the document. In alternative text, briefly describe the image and mention the existence of the text and its intent.

Add alternative text to images

Add alternative text to tables

Add meaningful hyperlink text.

People who use screen readers sometimes scan a list of links. Links should convey clear and accurate information about the destination. For example, instead of linking to the text Click here, include the full title of the destination page.

Add hyperlink text

Ensure that color is not the only means of conveying information.

People who are blind, have low vision, or are colorblind might miss out on the meaning conveyed by particular colors.

For example, add an underline to color-coded hyperlink text so that people who are colorblind know that the text is linked even if they can't see the color. For headings, consider adding bold or using a larger font.

Use accessible font format

Use sufficient contrast for text and background colors.

The text in your email should be readable in High Contrast mode so that everyone, including people with visual disabilities, can see it well.

For example, use bright colors or high-contrast color schemes on opposite ends of the color spectrum. White and black schemes make it easier for people who are colorblind to distinguish text and shapes.

Use accessible font color

Use a larger font size (11pt or larger), sans serif fonts, and sufficient white space.

People who have dyslexia describe seeing text "swim together" on a page (the compressing of one line of text into the line below). They often see text merge or distort.

For people who have dyslexia or low vision, reduce the reading load. For example, they may benefit from familiar sans serif fonts such as Arial or Calibri. Avoid using all capital letters and excessive italics or underlines. Include ample white space between sentences and paragraphs.

Use accessible font format

Adjust space between sentences and paragraphs

Use built-in headings and styles.

To preserve tab order and to make it easier for screen readers to read your email, use a logical heading order and the built-in formatting tools in Outlook.

For example, organize headings in the prescribed logical order. Use Heading 1, Heading 2, and then Heading 3, rather than Heading 3, Heading 1, and then Heading 2. And, organize the information in your email into small chunks. Ideally, each heading would include only a few paragraphs.

Use built-in headings and styles

Use accessible font format

Use bulleted lists

Use ordered lists

Use a simple table structure, and specify column header information.

Screen readers keep track of their location in a table by counting table cells. If a table is nested within another table or if a cell is merged or split, the screen reader loses count and can't provide helpful information about the table after that point. Blank cells in a table could also mislead someone using a screen reader into thinking that there is nothing more in the table.

Screen readers also use header information to identify rows and columns.

Use table headers

Add alternative text to visuals and tables

The following procedures describe how to add alternative text to visuals and tables in your Outlook email.

Note: We recommend only putting text in the description field and leaving the title blank. This will provide the best experience with most screen readers including Narrator. For audio and video content, in addition to alt text, include closed captioning for people who are deaf or have limited hearing.

Add alternative text to images

Add alternative text to images, such as pictures and screenshots, so that screen readers can read the text to describe the image to readers who can't see the image.

  1. In the email you're composing, select an image.

  2. To open the editing options ribbon at the bottom of the screen, tap the ... (More options) button .

  3. Scroll down to the Picture button, and then tap it.

  4. Scroll down to the Alt Text button, and then tap it.

  5. Type a description and a title.

    Tip: Include the most important information in the first line, and be as concise as possible.

  6. To add the text and exit the dialog, tap Done.

Add Alt Text to an image.

Add alternative text to tables

Adding alternative text to tables helps readers who can't see identify what the table is all about.

  1. In the email you're composing, select a table.

  2. To open the editing options ribbon at the bottom of the screen, tap the ... (More options) button.

  3. Scroll down to the Table button, and then tap it.

  4. Scroll down to the Alt Text button, and then tap it.

  5. Type a description and a title.

    Tip: Include the most important information in the first line, and be as concise as possible.

  6. To add the text and exit the dialog, tap Done.

Add Alt Text to a table.

Make hyperlinks, text, and tables accessible

The following procedures describe how to make the hyperlinks, text, and tables in your Outlook email accessible.

Add hyperlink text

Add a meaningful hyperlink text to help screen reader users easily scan your email for links.

  1. In the email you're composing, select the text to which you want to add the hyperlink.

  2. To open the editing options ribbon at the bottom of the screen, tap the ... (More options) button.

  3. Scroll down to the Insert button, and then tap it.

  4. Scroll down to the Link button, and then tap it.

  5. If necessary, change the hyperlink text in Text to display field.

  6. In the Address text field, type the destination URL.

  7. To insert the hyperlink, tap Insert.

Tip: If the title on the hyperlink's destination page gives an accurate summary of what's on the page, use it for the hyperlink text. For example, this hyperlink text matches the title on the destination page: Templates and Themes for Office Online.

Add a  hyperlink text.

Use accessible font format

Use a familiar font type and large enough font size to help people who have dyslexia or have low vision read your email more easily.

  1. In the email you're composing, select the text.

  2. To open the editing options ribbon at the bottom of the screen, tap the ... (More options) button.

  3. Scroll down to the Format button, and then tap it.

  4. In the Format menu, select the font type, size, and formatting you want.

Modify font settings.

Use accessible font color

To ensure that text displays well in High Contrast mode, use the Automatic setting for font colors.

  1. In the email you're composing, select the text.

  2. To open the editing options ribbon at the bottom of the screen, tap the ... (More options) button.

  3. Scroll down to the Format button, and then tap it.

  4. In the Format menu, scroll down to the Font Color button, and then tap the > button to open the submenu.

  5. In the Font Color menu, scroll down to Automatic, and then tap it.

Modify font color settings to automatic.

Use built-in headings and styles

The pre-designed headings and styles make it easier for screen readers to read your email.

  1. Position the cursor anywhere in the email you're composing.

  2. To open the editing options ribbon at the bottom of the screen, tap the ... (More options) button.

  3. Scroll down to the Format button, and then tap it.

  4. In the Format menu, scroll down to the Styles button, and then tap it.

  5. In the Styles menu, scroll down to Heading 1 or Heading 2, and then tap it.

Use styles and headings.

Use bulleted lists

Create bulleted lists to add structure to your text.

  1. Position the cursor anywhere in the email you're composing.

  2. To open the editing options ribbon at the bottom of the screen, tap the ... (More options) button.

  3. Scroll down to the Format button, and then tap it.

  4. In the Format menu, scroll down to the Bullets button, and then tap it.

  5. In the Bullets menu, select the bullet type you want.

  6. Type the text for the bulleted item. To add a new bulleted line, tap Enter on the on-screen keyboard. To end the list, press Enter twice.

Add bulleted list.

Use ordered lists

Create ordered lists to organize your text into sequential steps.

  1. Position the cursor anywhere in the email you're composing.

  2. To open the editing options ribbon at the bottom of the screen, tap the ... (More options) button.

  3. Scroll down to the Format button, and then tap it.

  4. In the Format menu, scroll down to the Numbering button, and then tap it.

  5. In the Numbering menu, select the ordered list type you want.

  6. Type the text for the numbered item. To add a new numbered line, tap Enter on the on-screen keyboard. To end the list, press Enter twice.

Add a numbered list.

Adjust space between sentences and paragraphs

Increase or decrease white space between sentences and paragraphs.

  1. In the email you're composing, select the text.

  2. To open the editing options ribbon at the bottom of the screen, tap the ... (More options) button.

  3. Scroll down to the Format button, and then tap it.

  4. In the Format menu, scroll down to the Line & Paragraph Spacing button, and then tap it.

  5. In the Line & Paragraph Spacing menu, select the line and paragraph spacing options you want.

Modify spacing settings.

Use table headers

Specify a header row in a table.

  1. In the email you're composing, position the cursor anywhere in a table.

  2. To open the editing options ribbon at the bottom of the screen, tap the ... (More options) button.

  3. Scroll down to the Table button, and then tap it.

  4. In the Table menu, scroll down to the Style Options button, and then tap it.

  5. In the Style Options menu, select the Header Row option.

  6. Type column headings.

Add a header row in a table.

See also

Rules for the Accessibility Checker

Make your Word documents accessible

Web: Best practices for making Outlook email accessible

The following table includes key best practices for creating Outlook email that is accessible to people with disabilities.

What to fix

Why fix it

How to fix it

Include alternative text with all visuals.

Alt text helps people who can't see the screen to understand what's important in images and other visuals.

Avoid using text in images as the sole method of conveying important information. If you must use an image with text in it, repeat that text in the document. In alt text, briefly describe the image and mention the existence of the text and its intent.

Add alt text to images

Add meaningful hyperlink text.

People who use screen readers sometimes scan a list of links. Links should convey clear and accurate information about the destination. For example, instead of linking to the text Click here, include the full title of the destination page.

Make hyperlinks and text accessible

Ensure that color is not the only means of conveying information.

People who are blind, have low vision, or are colorblind might miss out on the meaning conveyed by particular colors.

For example, add an underline to color-coded hyperlink text so that people who are colorblind know that the text is linked even if they can't see the color. For headings, consider adding bold or using a larger font.

Use accessible font format

Use accessible font color

Use sufficient contrast for text and background colors.

The text in your email should be readable in High Contrast mode so that everyone, including people with visual disabilities, can see it well.

For example, use bright colors or high-contrast color schemes on opposite ends of the color spectrum. White and black schemes make it easier for people who are colorblind to distinguish text and shapes.

Use accessible font format

Use a larger font size (11pt or larger), sans serif fonts, and sufficient white space.

People who have dyslexia describe seeing text "swim together" on a page (the compressing of one line of text into the line below). They often see text merge or distort.

For people who have dyslexia or have low vision, reduce the reading load. For example, they may benefit from familiar sans serif fonts such as Arial or Calibri. Avoid using all capital letters and excessive italics or underlines. Include ample white space between sentences and paragraphs.

Use accessible font format

Use built-in headings and styles.

To preserve tab order and to make it easier for screen readers to read your email, use a logical heading order and the built-in formatting tools in Outlook.

For example, organize headings in the prescribed logical order. Use Heading 1, Heading 2, and then Heading 3, rather than Heading 3, Heading 1, and then Heading 2. And, organize the information in your email into small chunks. Ideally, each heading would include only a few paragraphs.

Use accessible font format

Use bulleted lists

Use ordered lists

Use a simple table structure.

Screen readers keep track of their location in a table by counting table cells. If a table is nested within another table or if a cell is merged or split, the screen reader loses count and can't provide helpful information about the table after that point. Blank cells in a table could also mislead someone using a screen reader into thinking that there is nothing more in the table.

Insert a simple table

Check your email for accessibility issues.

When you're composing an email to a contact who prefers accessible content, you receive a reminder of this and link to the Accessibility checker. You can quickly check your email for possible accessibility issues, fix them, and make sure that your contact can easily read your email with a screen reader.

Check your email for accessibility issues

Add alt text to images

Add alt text to images, such as pictures and screenshots, so that screen readers can read the text to describe the image to users who can't see the image.

Note: We recommend only putting text in the description field and leaving the title blank. This will provide the best experience with most screen readers including Narrator.

  1. When you're composing an email, right-click an image. A context menu opens.

  2. In the menu, select Insert alt text.

  3. Type a description (and a title).

Add alt text to images in Outlook on the web.

Make hyperlinks and text accessible

The following procedures describe how to make the hyperlinks, text, and tables in your Outlook email accessible.

Add a meaningful hyperlink text

Instead of displaying the URL as the link text, type a meaningful hyperlink text.

  1. When you're composing an email, type a link text in the message body.

  2. Select the link text, and then press Ctrl+K. The Insert link dialog opens.

  3. In the URL box, type the destination URL.

Use accessible font format

Use a familiar font type and large enough font size to help people who have dyslexia or have low vision read your email more easily.

  1. Select your text.

  2. To change the font type, press Ctrl+Shift+F.

  3. In the Font menu, select font type you want.

    Change font type in Outlook for the web.

  4. To change the font size, press Ctrl+Shift+S.

  5. In the Font size menu, select size you want.

    Change font size in Outlook on the web.

Use accessible font color

To ensure that text displays well in High Contrast mode, use black for the font color.

  1. Select your text.

  2. Press Ctrl+Shift+C.

  3. In the Font color menu, select the color you want.

Adjust font color in Outlook on the web.

Use bulleted lists

Create bulleted lists to add structure to your text.

  1. Place the cursor anywhere in your email.

  2. In the toolbar, click the Bullets icon.

    Add bullet list in Outlook on the web.

  3. Type each bullet item in the bulleted list.

Use ordered lists

Create ordered lists to organize your text into sequential steps.

  1. Place the cursor anywhere in your email.

  2. In the toolbar, click the Numbering icon.

    Add a numbered list in Outlook on the web.

  3. Type each numbered item in the list.

Insert a simple table

Adding tables inside tables or leaving cells empty may make your emails difficult to read with a screen reader. Consider using simple tables that make it easier for the screen readers to identify the table, rows, and columns.

  1. Place the cursor anywhere in your email.

  2. In the toolbar, click the Insert table icon.

  3. In the Insert table grid, highlight the area of rows and columns to be added, and then click in the area to select and add it.

Add a simple table in Outlook on the web.

Check your email for accessibility issues

In Outlook Web App, users can request accessible content. Whenever you add such a user as a recipient for an email, you receive a notification that they prefer accessible content, and a link to the accessibility checker. If the checker finds any accessibility issues in the email, the issues will be listed, along with instructions on how to fix them.

  1. When you've composed your email, select the Check for accessibility issues link above the message body field.

    You may need to click the More actions icon before you can access the Check for accessibility issues link.

  2. The Accessibility checker opens and lists issues with accessibility (if any).

  3. Read through the list, revise the email content, and then click the Check again button in the Accessibility checker.

  4. Repeat the steps until no issues are found, and then send your email.

Check an email for accessibility issues in Outlook on the web.

See also

Rules for the Accessibility Checker

Make your Word documents accessible

Make your Excel spreadsheets accessible

Make your PowerPoint presentations accessible

Technical support for customers with disabilities

Microsoft wants to provide the best possible experience for all our customers. If you have a disability or questions related to accessibility, please contact the Microsoft Disability Answer Desk for technical assistance. The Disability Answer Desk support team is trained in using many popular assistive technologies and can offer assistance in English, Spanish, French, and American Sign Language. Please go to the Microsoft Disability Answer Desk site to find out the contact details for your region.

If you are a government, commercial, or enterprise user, please contact the enterprise Disability Answer Desk.

Enterprise Cost1-10 fields

Enterprise Cost1-10 fields

The Enterprise Cost1 through Enterprise Cost10 fields can store any custom task, resource, or assignment cost information as defined by your project management administrator or other user with administrative permissions. These fields are then made available to all users throughout the organization.

There are several categories of Enterprise Cost1-10 fields.

Data Type    Currency

Enterprise Cost1-10 (task fields)

Entry Type    Calculated or Entered

How Calculated    Depending on how they were customized, the Enterprise Cost fields might be defined with formulas or other conditions to display specific results.

Best Uses    You can add any defined and available Enterprise Cost field to a task view; you can also see a list of available enterprise custom task fields in the Task Information dialog box.

Example    You are a project manager, and you see that there are two new enterprise cost fields available: Highest Estimated Cost is defined for the Enterprise Cost1 field, and Lowest Estimated Cost is defined for the Enterprise Cost2 field. You add these fields to the Task Sheet and use them to track high and low estimated costs for tasks in your project.

You are the project management administrator, and you've received requests from project managers for custom cost fields to track targeted expenses. You define the Enterprise Cost3 field as the new Targeted Expenses task field. You define the field in the checked-out enterprise global template, and then check it in again to make it available to all users.

Remarks    Only someone with permission to save the enterprise global template (for example, your project management administrator) can check out and edit items in the enterprise global template. All users throughout the organization can then view enterprise fields that have been defined and checked in.

Enterprise Cost1-10 (resource fields)

Entry Type    Calculated or Entered

How Calculated    Depending on how they were customized, the Enterprise Cost fields might be defined with formulas or other conditions to display specific results.

Best Uses    You can add any defined and available enterprise cost field to a resource view; you can also see a list of available enterprise custom resource fields, in the Resource Information dialog box.

Example    You are a project manager, and you see that there are two new enterprise cost fields available: Highest Estimated Cost is defined for the Enterprise Cost1 field, and Lowest Estimated Cost is defined for the Enterprise Cost2 field. You add these fields to the Resource Sheet and use them to track high and low estimated costs for resources in your project.

You are the project management administrator, and you've received requests from project managers for custom cost fields to track targeted expenses on resources. You define the Enterprise Cost3 field as the new Targeted Expenses resource field. You define the field in the checked-out enterprise global template, and then check it in again to make it available to all users.

Remarks    Only someone with permission to save the enterprise global template (for example, your project management administrator) can check out and edit items in the enterprise global template. All users throughout the organization can then view enterprise fields that have been defined and checked in.

Enterprise Cost1-10 (assignment fields)

Entry Type    Calculated or Entered

How Calculated    Depending on how they were customized, the Enterprise Cost fields might be defined with formulas or other conditions to display specific results.

Best Uses    You can add any defined and available Enterprise Cost field to the sheet portion of the Task Usage or Resource Usage view.

Example    You are the project management administrator, and you've received requests from project managers for custom cost fields to track targeted expenses on assignments. You define the Enterprise Cost3 field as the new Targeted Expenses assignment field. You define the field in the checked out-enterprise global template, and then check it in again to make it available to all users.

You are a project manager, and you see that there are two new Enterprise Cost fields defined and available: Highest Estimated Cost is defined for the Enterprise Cost1 field, and Lowest Estimated Cost is defined for the Enterprise Cost2 field. You add these fields to the Task Usage view and use them to track high and low estimated costs for assignments.

Remarks    Only someone with permission to save the enterprise global template (for example, the project management administrator) can check out and edit items in the enterprise global template. All users throughout the enterprise can then view Enterprise fields that have been defined and checked in.

Add records to a table by using an append query

Add records to a table by using an append query

This article explains how to create and run an append query. You use an append query when you need to add new records to an existing table by using data from other sources.

If you need to change data in an existing set of records, such as updating the value of a field, you can use an update query. If you need to make a new table from a selection of data, or to merge two tables into one new table, you can use a make-table query. For more information about update queries or make-table queries, or for general information about other ways to add records to a database or change existing data, see the See Also section.

Note: The append query isn't available in Access web apps, but you can use an append query in a web database by opening the database in Access.

In this article

Overview

Create and run an append query

Stop Disabled Mode from blocking a query

Overview

An append query selects records from one or more data sources and copies the selected records to an existing table.

For example, suppose that you acquire a database that contains a table of potential new customers, and that you already have a table in your existing database that stores that kind of data. You'd like to store the data in one place, so you decide to copy it from the new database into your existing table. To avoid entering the new data manually, you can use an append query to copy the records.

Benefits of using an append query

By using a query to copy data, you can:

  • Append multiple records in one pass    If you copy data manually, you usually have to perform multiple copy/paste operations. By using a query, you select all the data at once, and then copy it.

  • Review your selection before you copy it    You can view your selection in Datasheet view and can make adjustments to your selection as needed before you copy the data. This can be particularly handy if your query includes criteria or expressions, and you need several tries to get it just right. You cannot undo an append query. If you make a mistake, you must either restore your database from a backup or correct your error, either manually or by using a delete query.

  • Use criteria to refine your selection    For example, you might want to only append records of customers who live in your city.

  • Append records when some of the fields in the data sources don't exist in the destination table     For example, suppose that your existing customer table has eleven fields, and the new table that you want to copy from only has nine of those eleven fields. You can use an append query to copy the data from the nine fields that match and leave the other two fields blank.

Basic steps of an append query

The process of creating an append query follows these basic steps:

  • Create a select query    You start by selecting the data that you want to copy. You can adjust your select query as needed, and run it as many times as you want to make sure you are selecting the data that you want to copy.

  • Convert the select query to an append query    After your selection is ready, you change the query type to Append.

  • Choose the destination fields for each column in the append query    In some cases, Access automatically chooses the destination fields for you. You can adjust the destination fields, or choose them if Access did not.

  • Preview and run the query to append the records    Before you append the records, you can switch to Datasheet view for a preview of the appended records.

Important: You cannot undo an append query. Consider backing up your database or the destination table.

Create and run an append query

In this section

Step 1: Create a query to select the records to copy

Step 2: Convert the select query to an append query

Step 3: Choose the destination fields

Step 4: Preview and run the append query

Step 1: Create a query to select the records to copy

  1. Open the database that contains the records that you want to copy.

  2. On the Create tab, in the Queries group, click Query Design. Note, if you're using Access 2007, click Create > Other > Query Design.

    The Queries group in the Access ribbon displays two options: Query Wizard and Query Design

    The query designer opens, and the Show Table dialog box appears.

    Show Table dialog in Access displaying table names
  3. Double-click the tables or queries that contain the records that you want to copy, and then click Close.

    The tables or queries appear as one or more windows in the query designer. Each window lists the fields in a table or query. This figure shows a typical table in the query designer.

    A table in the query designer

    1. Assets table shown in the query designer

    2. Query design grid

  4. Double-click each field that you want to append. The selected fields appear in the Field row in the query design grid.

    The data types of the fields in the source table must be compatible with the data types of the fields in the destination table. Text fields are compatible with most other types of fields. Number fields are only compatible with other number fields. For example, you can append numbers to a text field, but you cannot append text into a number field.

    You can also use an expression as a field  — such as =Date() to automatically return today's date — and you can use expressions with table or query fields in the design grid to customize the data that you select. For example, if your destination table has a field that stores a four-digit year and the source table has a regular date/time field, you might use the DatePart function with the source field to select only the year.

    To quickly add all the fields in a table, double-click the asterisk (*) at the top of the list of table fields. This figure shows the design grid with all fields added.

    A query with all table fields added.

  5. Optionally, you can enter one or more criteria in the Criteria row of the design grid. The following table shows some example criteria and explains the effect they have on a query.

Criteria

Effect

> 234

Returns all numbers greater than 234. To find all numbers less than 234, use < 234.

>= "Callahan"

Returns all records from Callahan through the end of the alphabet.

Between #2/2/2017# And #12/1/2017#

Returns dates from 2-Feb-17 through 1-Dec-17 (ANSI-89). If your database uses the ANSI-92 wildcard characters, use single quotation marks (') instead of pound signs. Example: Between '2/2/2017' And '12/1/2017'.

Not "Germany"

Finds all records where the exact contents of the field are not exactly equal to "Germany." The criterion will return records that contain characters in addition to "Germany," such as "Germany (euro)" or "Europe (Germany)".

Not "T*"

Finds all records except those beginning with T. If your database uses the ANSI-92 wildcard character set, use the percent sign (%) instead of the asterisk (*).

Not "*t"

Finds all records that do not end with t. If your database uses the ANSI-92 wildcard character set, use the percent sign instead of the asterisk.

In(Canada,UK)

In a list, finds all records containing Canada or UK.

Like "[A-D]*"

In a Text field, finds all records that start with the letters A through D. If your database uses the ANSI-92 wildcard character set, use the percent sign instead of the asterisk.

Like "*ar*"

Finds all records that include the letter sequence "ar". If your database uses the ANSI-92 wildcard character set, use the percent sign instead of the asterisk.

Like "Maison Dewe?"

Finds all records that begin with "Maison" and that also contain a 5-letter second string in which the first 4 letters are "Dewe" and the last letter is unknown (indicated by a question mark). If your database uses the ANSI-92 wildcard character set, use the underscore (_) instead of the question mark.

#2/2/2017#

Finds all records for February 2, 2017. If your database uses the ANSI-92 wildcard character set, surround the date with single quotation marks instead of pound signs (#). Example: '2/2/2017'.

< Date() - 30

Returns all dates more than 30 days old.

Date()

Returns all records containing today's date.

Between Date() And DateAdd("M", 3, Date())

Returns all records between today's date and three months from today's date.

Is Null

Returns all records that contain a null (blank or undefined) value.

Is Not Null

Returns all records that contain a value.

""

Returns all records that contain a zero-length string. You use zero-length strings when you need to add a value to a required field, but you don't yet know what that value is. For example, a field may require a fax number, but some of your customers may not have fax machines. In that case, you enter a pair of double quotation marks with no space between them ("") instead of a number.

  1. On the Design tab, in the Results group, click Run Button image .

  2. Verify that the query returned the records that you want to copy. If you need to add or remove fields from the query, switch back to Design view and add fields as described in the preceding step, or select the fields that you don't want and press DELETE to remove them from the query.

Step 2: Convert the select query to an append query

  1. On the Home tab, in the View group, click View, and then click Design View.

  2. On the Design tab, in the Query Type group, click Append.

    The Append dialog box appears.

    Screenshot of the Append query dialog box

  3. Next, you specify whether to append records to a table in the current database, or to a table in a different database.

    Do one of the following:

    • In the Append dialog box, click Current Database, select the destination table from the Table Name combo box, and then click OK.

      -or-

    • In the Append dialog box, click Another Database.

    • In the File Name box, enter the location and name of the destination database.

    • In the Table Name combo box, enter the name of the destination table, and then click OK.

Step 3: Choose the destination fields

The way that you choose destination fields depends on how you created your select query in Step 1.

If you...

Access...

Added all the fields from your source table or query

Adds all the fields in the destination table to the Append to row in the design grid

Added individual fields to the query or used expressions, and the field names in the source and destination tables match

Automatically adds the matching destination fields to the Append to row in the query

Added individual fields or used expressions, and any of the names in the source and destination tables don't match

Adds the matching fields, and leaves unmatched fields blank

If Access leaves fields blank, you can click a cell in the Append to row and select a destination field.

This figure illustrates how you click a cell in the Append to row and select a destination field.

A drop-down list in an Append to row

Note: If you leave the destination field blank, the query will not append data to that field.

Step 4: Preview and run the append query

  1. To preview your changes, switch to Datasheet view.

    Tip: To quickly switch views, right-click the tab at the top of the query, and then click the view that you want.

  2. Return to Design view, and then click Run Button image to append the records.

    Note:  While running a query that returns a large amount of data you might get an error message indicating that you will not be able to undo the query. Try increasing the limit on the memory segment to 3MB to allow the query to go through.

Top of Page

Stop Disabled Mode from blocking a query

If you try to run an append query and it seems like nothing happens, check the Access status bar for the following message:

This action or event has been blocked by Disabled Mode.

To fix this, click Enable Content in the Message Bar to enable the query.

Note: When you enable the append query, you also enable all other database content.

Note, if you're using Access 2007, you'll need to follow these steps to enable content:

  1. In the Message Bar, click Options.

  2. In the Microsoft Office Security Options dialog box, click Enable this content, and then click OK.

If you don't see the Message Bar, it may be hidden. You can show it, unless it has also been disabled. If the Message Bar has been disabled, you can enable it. To enable the Message Bar in Access 2007, go to the Trust Center Settings area in the Access Options dialog box, click Show the Message Bar in all applications when content has been blocked, and then click OK. You'll need to close and reopen the database to apply the changed setting.

Top of Page

See Also

Create and run an update query

Add one or more records to a database

Create a make table query

Add a resource to Project Web App

Add a resource to Project Web App

After you have shared your Project Web App site with a user, you can add that user as a resource. Resources are the people, materials, or costs that are required to get your project done.

To add a resource to the resource pool in Project Web App:

  1. Click Resources on the Quick Launch.

  2. Click Resources > New.

  3. Choose a Type for the new resource:

    • Work resources are the people who complete the tasks in your project.

    • Material resources are the tools you need to get your project done. These may include things like vehicles, computers, or conference rooms.

    • Cost resources are fees associated with your project. These may be things like lodging or airfare.

  4. Select the Budget check box if you are adding a resource that will help you track your project budget.

  5. Select the Generic check box if you are adding a resource that will represent an overall resource category, such as Developer or Contractor.

  6. In the Identification Information section, select the Resource can logon to Project Web App check box if you want the resource to be able to log on and submit a timesheet, enter task progress, or view your project in Project Web App. This is typically only applicable for Work resources.

  7. Do one of the following:

    • If you selected the Resource can logon to Project Web App check box, in the User Authentication section, type the resource's name or email address in the User logon account box.

    • If you did not select the Resource can logon to Project Web App check box, type a Display Name for the resource, and then enter an Email Address, RBS identifier, and Initials, if appropriate.

  8. Choose the appropriate Assignment Attributes for the resource. Not sure which attributes to use?

  9. Choose a Resource Department, if appropriate.

  10. In the Group Fields section, enter a Group, Code, Cost Center, and Cost Type, if appropriate.

  11. In the Team Details section, if your organization uses teams in Project Web App, choose the options that make the most sense for this resource.

  12. Click Save.

More about Assignment Attributes

Each resource can have several different details, set under Assignment Attributes.

Attribute

Description

Resource requires approval for all project assignments (Project Online and Project Server 2016 only)

Select this check box if you want this resource's time managed closely by a resource manager. If this check box is selected, project managers are warned that they should submit engagement requests to the resource manager for approval, before assigning the resource to tasks.

Resource can be leveled

Select this check box to allow the resource's hours to be spread evenly throughout a project.

Base Calendar

Choose the calendar that most accurately represents this resource's schedule.

Default Booking Type

Choose whether you want the resource to be Committed to a project when he or she is assigned to a task, or Proposed as a resource to be assigned to a task.

Timesheet Manager

Choose the person who will approve this resource's timesheet.

Default Assignment Owner

Choose the person who will manage this resource's assignments.

Earliest Available

Enter the earliest date when this resource can be assigned to tasks.

Latest Available

Enter the latest date when this resource can work on tasks.

Standard Rate

Enter the standard pay rate for this resource.

Overtime Rate

Enter the resource's overtime pay rate.

Current Max. Units (%)

Enter the maximum percentage of the resource's time that is available to work on projects. For example, a resource may only work 20 hours each week. If this is the case, enter 50% as the resource's Current Max. Units (%).

Cost/Use

If this resource has a cost associated with each assignment, enter it in this box. For example, if you are adding a van as a resource, there may be a fixed rental fee associated with that van that is paid each time the van is used.